Hit Like A Girl | The 2017 Drumming Contest For Women And Girls

Hit Like A Girl 2017 is the sixth annual global drumming contest for female percussionists. Its purpose is to spotlight female drummers/percussionists and encourage drumming and lifelong musicianship for girls and women, regardless of age or playing level. The event is produced by Hit Like A Girl Contest in conjunction with founding sponsors DRUM! Magazine, TRX Cymbals, and Tom Tom: The Magazine of Female Drummers. Hit Like A Girl activities are made possible by the generous support of companies in the music products industry.

General Guidelines

Read the complete contest rules and policies for more details.

Sorry Boys, Ladies Only

Only women and girls are eligible to enter. The contest is named “Hit Like A Girl,” after all.

Amateur Contest

Drummers and percussionists who make more than $50k/year playing music and have an endorsement contract are not eligible to enter.

1 Contest, 2 Age Groups

Only women and girls are eligible to enter. The contest is named “Hit Like A Girl,” after all.

3-minute Drumming Video

Solos, covers, or gigs are all fair game. Just make sure to showcase your skills!

Evaluation Criteria

Entry videos will scored by our distinguished panel of judges according to the following criteria:



Groove, Sound, Technique, Musicality, Interpretation



Production, performance, poise, entertainment, overall effect



Personal story, passion, potential, detail

4Entry Promo

Entering the Contest

February 1, 2017 — March 14, 2017

Contest Entry Checklist

3-minute performance video uploaded online
A brief bio telling your drumming story
Recent photo of yourself behind the kit

Need more help?
Find out more about how to enter.

Three Ways To Win!

Twenty-four finalists will be chosen in each age group and announced on March 20, 2017.

Weekly Winners

February 13, 2017–April 6, 2017
An esteemed team of judges made up of top female drummers, percussionists, and drum industry executives will select one winner from each age group each week during the contest entry phase. Weekly Winners will be announced weekly beginning February 13, 2017.

Note: The Weekly Top Ten list is cumulative, meaning that the rankings are updated each week to include all current contest entries. The Top Ten ranked entries from Week One are eligible for the Week One contest. The Week Two Top Ten is made up of the top ranked videos from weeks one and two. Week Three, from weeks one, two and three, and so on. The Weekly Winners are chosen by a team of judges made up of executives and endorsers of the company sponsoring the week.


Public Voting

March 27, 2017–April 10, 2017
Once the 24 finalists in each age division are announced on March 20, the public can vote for their favorites online. One vote per video per day. You must be signed on through HLAG or Facebook to cast your vote. The entries in the under and over 18 age division with the most votes by April 2 will receive special awards.


Celebrity Judging

Everyone who enters HLAG is evaluated by a group of preliminary judges and receives a copy of their score sheets with professional feedback from the judges. The preliminary judges include educator members of the Percussive Arts Society, the D’Addario Education Collective and members of Sabian Education Network or Vic Firth PDT.

At the end of the entry period the top 24 finalists in each age division will  be judged by our panel of celebrity drummers and percussionists. This round of judging will determine the Champions and Runners-Up in the Drum Set, Concert, Marching and World Percussion categories.

And The Winner Is…

April 18 2017

The 2017 contest grand prize winners and runners-up will be announced via live webcast on DrumChannel.com at 6:00 PM PST. We’ll get a chance to view videos of top finalists and winners, and talk with celebrity judges and guest hosts.

2016 Drumchannel 1280

Left to right at the 2015 awards: Jess Bowen, Kiran Gandhi, Alicia Warrington, Don Lombardi (DrumChannel), Val Sepulveda (2013 champion), Chad Smith, David Levine, Cobus Potgieter, Elijah Navarro (Promark), Bianca Richardson (finalist), Mindy Abovitz, Phil Hood, Bobbye Hall, Phil Jaurigui, Chris Stankee (Sabian)